Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s fast-paced society, various high-income job vacancies require more professional skills so parents have become more and more conscious of the importance of studying at school. While many people have an opinion of emphasizing only academic subjects, others oppose this idea because of the necessity of other subjects. From my perspective, it is essential for students to strike a balance at school. It is understandable that if the curriculum is merely about the main disciplines, students may be provided foundational knowledge and have more time to enhance their skills. For instance, in today’s educational program, English is one of the major subjects with four lessons per week. However, students still find no time to improve their speaking skills, which leads to the fact that most graduates cannot speak English fluently unless they attend extra classes in the evening. What is more, that school program emphasizes academic subjects such as Math, Science contributes to advancing the students ’ problem-solving abilities. Thus, it can be seen that there are some benefits to focusing on academic areas. On the other hand, other disciplines including music and P.E. also play a crucial part in the student’s overall well-being. Firstly, these subjects help the learners not only unwind after many stressful hours of studying but also promote life skills. For example, playing team sports such as football is a perfect chance for them to learn about time management skills and teamwork skills which are both vital when they grow up. The second highlight is that many talents in music and art may be discovered in these lessons. In fact, not every person is good at academic fields and if they are talented in specialized subjects, they have numerous opportunities to have good careers in the future. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is unnecessary to eliminate talented subjects because of many upsides it brings to the students including physical and spiritual aspects. That students strike a balance between academic disciplines and specialized ones may help them to have a brighter future.