Nowadays it is not only large companies that can make films. Digital technology enables anyone to produce films. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern society, owing to technological breakthroughs, everyone can become filmmakers, which was exclusive to big firms in the past. From my way of thinking, the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, a variety of companies can produce films that bring a lot of benefits. Firstly, this development widens numerous chances for hidden talented actors and actresses. All talents can access a broader environment and have opportunities to show their ability. For instance, the movie industry in Vietnam is thriving therefore many young adults who are good at acting can become renowned actors although they do not graduate from the universities specializing in training actors. Furthermore, thanks to the advances in technology, watchers can enjoy many types of movies because film producers are free to show their creativity in art, which promotes diversity in producing blockbusters. In China, for example, many small private companies trying to take advantage of technological advancement to making blockbusters with low expense so that the public does not need to watch soap opera on TV again and again. Nonetheless, the trend also has the intangible risk that mainstream art of making the film can be distorted. Instead of producing meaningful films such as historic films or comedies, many people will create meaningless movies because they want to maximize profit. A film called Penthouse which is a product of the Korean film industry is a typical example of this case. Film producers of Penthouse try to create irrational plot twists to attract the attention of viewers rather than convey valuable messages. It would have a bad influence on the mindset of society as well as the development of the film industry. To sum up, although the new trend caused by the advent of technology brings negativity, its benefits are more than its disadvantages. It gives more opportunities for talented people to develop and simultaneously, the public also can enjoy more amazing movies. Aa