Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, an increasing number of individuals are concerned about the purpose that famous TV shows serve. A number of people opine that all popular entertainment shows should focus on educating the audience about social problems. This essay disagrees with this notion for the following reasons. Firstly, Television is not only one of the most common but also easily accessible entertainments available to the population; as a result, the majority of the population rely on such programmes to reduce their stress level from their daily work-life routine. Additionally, many people are already aware of the problems around them and if the same thing will be broadcasted to them, it will not be beneficial for both makers and the audience. For example, a recent survey conducted by The Times Magzine found a 25% decline in the viewership of such channels that were broadcasting shows related to society and its concerns. Secondly, these programmes are purely based on the demand and supply and run based on the revenue they generate from advertisements and this has become possible due to the advancement of technology. Makers are only concerned about the profit margins and it is a business for them. Moreover, if the government want to draw the attention of the public towards such issues then I think that can be done through advertisements. For instance, many NGOs seek help via various news channels and the same can be adapted by the government. To conclude, of course, there is some truth in the argument that TV entertainment programmes should educate their audience about the social issue, however, in my opinion, we should leave this liberty on the viewers that what is their preference and what content they would like to watch.