A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent days, the value of a person is decided by his social status and lifestyle. The traditional values such as the nature of the person, behaviour, and truthfulness are no more considered as an important factor to know the qualities of someone. My essay agrees with this statement. I believe that the current generation of people are identified and respected based on their costly living and position in society. Firstly, the modern generation people are judging other people in the community based on their type of work, financial status and costly lifestyle because they usually have a strong financial status and since the needs of the world are revolving around money instead of the truth and nature of the person it is common that people around these rich will treat them as role models and legends to gain benefits from them. For example, I know a person from a middle-class family in India who donated half of his salary every month to an old age home for the past 15 years and a well know person to every member of the old age home and I remember, during the celebrations of 25th anniversary of the old age home, most of the celebrities from film and political background are invited as chief guests to the function but this person was how made a lot of donations to the senior home was not even invited. Secondly, the kind of work that we are doing in society plays a key role nowadays because, the people in the higher designations have a higher income that means, a costly lifestyle. For example, consider an engineer and a teacher, one teacher have the capability to make thousands of engineers, but the high income that an engineer has made him the more valued person in society than a teacher. Moreover, for current generation youth, the movie starts are real heroes due to their stardom and costly lifestyle then the real heroes who are protecting the country in the boarders from our enemies. In conclusion, the modern generation people are recognising the other persons based on the economical and costly lifestyle rather than the qualities, simplicity, kindness and true nature of the person. I totally agree with this point. People who are really working for the wellbeing of society are less valued than people who do nothing but are rich in society.