More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Due to various circumstances many huge corporations and smaller companies allow their employees to work remotely. In my opinion, that is way more comfortable than working from the office, since it creates a wide range of benefits for both employers and their workers. First of all, it definitely allows to spare precious time that people spend getting to work and going home afterwards. It is extremely convenient to wake up in the morning, take a shower, turn on your computer and get to work immediately without having to get stuck in a traffic jam or wait for a taxi during the rainy weather. Secondly, recent studies show that introverts tend to manage workload in a more productive way while working alone. It obviously increases the quality of work performed on complex tasks which leads to a better performance overall. Last but not least, employers get to spare a significant amount of money since there is no need to rent a huge space for the employees. Furthermore, additional expenses also become irrelevant as there is no point in paying for electricity or hiring back office workers, like security or cleaners. It goes without saying that working from home also has its perks. The main disadvantage is that people need to socialize to create a friendly working atmosphere. Since live communication is no longer an option for the employees, they tend to communicate online which may create a sense of solitude among people. Especially it concerns newbies, as most newcomers have a hard time getting used to the new environment and it might be quite an obstacle to manage the tasks on their own without any live communication with the senior colleauges. However, some people find it convenient to communicate and learn during online meetings, therefore, working remotely is pretty manageable for them. To sum up, working remotely was not an easy option, especially during the lockdown time. Nevertheless, nowadays it outweighs the option of working from the office since it offers a significant range of new opportunities for both employers and employees.