6. Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

Crime rates are increasing nowadays in an alarming rate across nations. Some people is of the opinion that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime, whereas another group of people believe that circumstances and motivation for committing the crime should be taken into consideration while deciding the punishment. Every country have different judiciary system. To begin with, in a fixed punishment system; people will think or refrain from committing the crime as they have fear in judiciary system and so the Law & order implementation will be effective and easy. Secondly, this reduces the crime rate as people are aware of the strict punishment system. Moreover; in such system, there is no or very rare chance of criminal to escape and judiciary system is very fast resulting in zero pending cases In a punishment system where the circumstances and motivation are taken into consideration; Code of ethics of law is maintained and so innocent people will not be punished, even if one criminal escape. Secondly, there are two types of crimes: intentional and non-intentional. For example, some people have kleptomania which is a mental illness and giving fixed punishment to them will be unfair. Also, in tragic cases like rape incidents the victim will be in a tormented situation and end up doing a crime for self defence. And so looking into circumstances and motivation should always be considered.Innocents do not deserve fixed punishment unlike mentioned before. Moreover, people will have faith in judiciary system. To conclude, I am of the opinion that looking into the reason and circumstances while deciding a punishment is a fair one as the code of ethics is followed. However, the positive sides of other punishment method should also be considered