Some people think that advertisements are good for the society whereas others oppose this view. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

There is a contentious debate on advertisement in modern society. Some people believe that it is beneficial while others tend to think the other way around. In this essay, I will explore both views and explain why I think that marketing has positive effects on our lives. On the one hand, some individuals lean towards thinking that ads are bad for people. The main reason for their opinion is that it compromises the idea of free will. A good illustration of this notion is that nowadays society is living by someone else’s standards, buying non-essential products, envying whatever is placed and strongly promoted on the market. For example, whenever we see a newer version of a certain smartphone – we urge to obtain and own it. On the other hand, others believe that marketing is of great help and value to society. The main reason for this belief is that it greatly assists in decision making. In the modern world, we are flooded by numerous products. For instance, you can easily get confused by the variety of gadgets which are presented for sale on the shelves. A good advertisement can guide you towards the one which suits your specific expectations. Moreover, ads provide us with essential information, thus eliminating the emotional stress of choosing and selecting. In conclusion, both views of this debate have their merits. On balance, however, I think that the tremendous helpfulness of advertising by far outweighs some possible negative effects.