The money spent by governments on space programmes would be better spent on vital public services such as shcools and hospitals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the government should consider investing more in public health issues rather than in spacecraft programs. I completely agree with this view, and in this essay, I will support my view with examples. To begin with, there are various public health matters which require the immediate attention of the government. The mortality rate of people has surged drastically because of the limited availability of basic resources. Like, people who reside in rural areas have little or no access to clean drinking water; they contract communicable diseases like Hepatitis A and sometimes even die because of the illness. If the government heavily invests in space missions, then it is advisable for them to prevent further deaths and provide access to clean water. On the other hand, space missions are expensive, and there are limited chances for such plans to be successful. Therefore, the government should be mindful of their investments and consider providing free education to children, who are the future of the country. These underprivileged children tomorrow can be the next scientist or doctor who can find the cure for cancer or other immunological disorders. So, the government can provide free education to children by building schools or offer scholarships to them. Spacecraft missions cannot promise to be successful and full of risks, however, providing free education does not involve any harm and can bring prosperity to the country. To conclude, some people opine that the government should be thoughtful while investing in spacecraft missions and consider to spend on paramount public services. I completely agree with this perspective and have provided reasons to support my view.