Fewer and fewer peoplewalk on a daily basis. What are the reasons and how to encourage them to spend their time

In modern society, many people lost the habit of walking regularly due to several causes, some measures should be taken to stimulate daily walking. To begin with, two primary reasons lead to the trend that people do not walk frequently. First and foremost, the advances in technology have discouraged people from walking. People are becoming over-reliant on cars and motorbikes when commuting to the workplace or school to save time and effort. People can get to the places at a fast speed owing to the modern means of transport. Secondly, people choose to travel by cars or public transportations to secure their safety. The traffic network is quite complicated and dangerous, especially at peak times. Hence, many parents feel hesitant to let their kids go to school on foot. In Vietnam, for instance, families living in the metropolis often pick up and drop off their children by cars or motorbikes instead of allowing them to walk to school because it is unsafe for them to cross the main roads by themselves. Two solutions could be implemented to encourage residents to have the habit of walking. Firstly, build the new roads which are for pedestrians only. When the government invest widen more spaces for walking only, people will take commuting on foot into consideration because it not only help them keep fit but also save money spent on petrol. Secondly, organizing special events for walking activities. It will raise citizen's awareness of walking and it also attracts the public's attention. Then people gradually get accustomed to traveling on foot. For example, in Vietnam, there are two famous walked streets called Sword Lake in Ha Noi and Nguyen Hue in Ho Chi Minh city. There are many young people who interest in these two streets and feel excited about taking up walking. To sum up, two popular reasons why people are walking less and less are mentioned above and simultaneously some simple measures should be adopted to resolve the problem.