Many people believe that social networking websites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extent do you agree?

Many people argue that social networking sites such as Facebook have a severe negative impact on both individuals and society. I completely agree with this statement because various social media consume a significant amount of time people and reduce their productivity. Social networking sites have a negative impact on people because they consume a large amount of valuable time of people. People spend around 6 to 7 hours on social media in a day, which just kills their valuable time. If they can invest that time in some productive work, they will make some progress in all aspects of their lives. For example, recent research tells that around 67% of people in Australia spend an average of 40 hours a week on social media, which is huge, and therefore, every week they have some pending work. Moreover, social media negatively impacts the productivity of individuals. When an individual spends a lot of time on social media, it distracts them. As a result, after spending a huge amount of time on social media, these individuals cannot focus properly on their work or daily activities. It severely impacts their performance in their workplaces and household tasks. For example, many Chinese women, who are homemakers believe that if they concentrate much on social media, they cannot focus on their household tasks. In conclusion, I completely agree with this statement that numerous social media are impacting people negatively because people waste their precious time on them, and they also decrease the productivity of people.