Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Psychologists have claimed for many years that colour can affect how people feel and believe that more attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. This is true and therefore one should focus on the hues and colour of the workplace and hospitals. This essay will elaborate on the importance of colour schemes in any establishment, private or public and their impact on the peoples' well-being and increased productivity. To begin with, colours play an important role in guiding the behaviour of the person, as it reacts with the subconscious mind and it sends some kind of subliminal message to the brain. For instance, a shopping mall uses the colour purple, as it energises the salesman and helps in working for long hours without being fatigued. For example, often pink, green and blue colours are associated with good health and it is suggested that, in hospitals and clinics a combination of these shades should be used to make the patients feel calm and recuperate from their illness. Thus, by creating an atmosphere of joy, happiness and positive vibes, many illnesses can be cured. In conclusion, I pen down, saying that hues have a significant role to play in affecting the environment around the people and control their behaviour. In my opinion, a thoughtful approach should be used while creating the ambience of an office or a hospital, as it has a tremendous effect on the output and the fitness of a person.