In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this world of the modern economy, everyone is getting busy with their respective lives. When people grow old, they are often treated as a financial burden in our modern society as they don't contribute to the economy. Also, with no one to take care of the old members of the family, usually they are sent to old-age homes where they stay with other old people and have the nurses for their proper care and treatment. However, unlike the practices in Britain, I agree that the family should pay for the old-age expenses and not the government. The following essay will explore the reasons for my aforementioned stand. Firstly, since these old family members have done and served us throughout their lives, it becomes our duty to help and take care of them when they need us. For instance, from the day an infant is born, all the responsibilities are taken care of by the parents, till the child grows up and become independent. As the kid grows parent supports them both financially and emotionally. Thus, when they grow old and become dependent, it is the duty of young people to support them, which they direly need. Secondly, these old folks would find it very difficult for them to cope with strangers as they need emotional support. For all the love they want to give, taking them away from their loved ones toa distant old-age home would not be justifiable. Such people fell sick very frequently due to loneliness. For example, in a recently concluded survey, it was found that people in old-age homes mostly die from feeling lonely. Therefore, it is the duty of the family members to keep them in touch with these aged persons and bear the expenses. In conclusion, I would reiterate my thoughts that family members should be the ones taking care of the aged people of their family. Although old people with no family should be taken care of by the government, the ones with family should always remain in touch with the family, for all the love they gave and all the responsibilities they should be taken care of, they should be taken care of by the family.