After finishing school some student go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. Do you think the advantages of gap years outweigh the disadvantages ?

It is absolutely true that some students take a small gap to travel or to work instead of joining university straight away. Although there are some minor drawbacks, the advantages of this said gap outweigh the disadvantages. In subsequent paragraphs, I will illustrate its advantages as well as disadvantages with relevant points. On the one side, some pupils like to travel or to start a job before initiating university education. Because of this gap when they will join the college, they may struggle a lot due to most of the learning of high school time may be forgotten by dint of gap. Some students can overcome this problem through regular reading in parallel to a job or travel. Furthermore, these youngers may lag of in their curriculum compared to the peer group. For example, the students having a gap get a low score in their exams of the first year. On the other side, exposure to the professional world in this gap makes individual more mature and their personality built up accordingly which can help these persons to tackle any kind of situation. Also, after graduation, some companies choose the graduates having some practical experience, at that time there is a win-win situation for these people and they get the vast benefit for the utilization of this gap. For instance, researches proved that the graduates having professional experience get a high salary compared to the same peer group. In conclusion, I opine that there are significant merits of gap after high school education which create the well-bred members of society. Hence, its advantages far outweigh the disadvantages if the gap between high school and graduation institute has been utilized intelligently.