In some places, old age is valued, while in other cultures youth is considered more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The diversity of age makes our world flourish vibrantly. With their unique upbringing, each generation can bring immense contributions, but also challenges to our humanity. While elders are well respected in some cultures, youth is honoured in others. Many people appreciate the wisdom and maturity of older generations. They have richer experiences and have dealt with various hardships in their early years. Some of our grandparents had fought major wars while others faced lengths of poverty. As a result, they can transcend adversities and become resilient and wise, which can teach young people important life lessons. Moreover, they made huge contributions to the development of our nation in all fields. Their devoted effort should be well regarded. Take the Cantopop “Lion Rock Spirit” as an example, it praised the older working classes, who cooperated well and devoted their effort to rebuilding the aftermath of World War II that crashed Hong Kong. This phenomenon is more prevalent in oriental cultures, where collaborative rights and authority are emphasized, and the youngsters need to respect and obey the elders. Youth represents the future of the community. They seek novelty, and introduce different innovations and advancements. They also merit open discussions; therefore, they can express their opinions and receive feedback. They can propose solutions to effectively improve various issues because of skilful communication. They are still developing and have great potential to succeed, as a majority of teen and emergent adults just landed their head start in their careers and pursuing education. They can bring unexpected achievements which surpass the previous generations. For instance, “The Friday School Strike”, which was initiated by a Swedish teenager Greta Thunberg, gathered thousands of like minders to support environmental conservation through Facebook. The strike has captured international awareness, pushed the government to reflect on conservation policies and rewrite laws regarding global warming. The voice of youth has been gaining importance in modern culture as changes in cultural and societal values have become frequent in recent decades. Furthermore, the adaptability and creativity of young people lead them to successfully thrive in this everchanging era. In conclusion, I think the younger generation holds a greater importance in our community. Their performance can predict the fate of a nation. They will be standing in leadership roles, involved in crucial decisions, and shaping the future. The older generation passes their expertise and morals to a young person, which better prepares them to manoeuvre countless changes in the future society