Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although there is no doubt that every crime must be punished, It is essential to consider which type of penal system is most appropriate. While some individuals believe every offense should be penalized with a fixed sentence, I think that punishments should be considered based on motives and circumstances. Those who advocate implementing a judicial process of set punishment may argue that this would make criminal trials more efficient. For instance, once a jury has decided a particular defendant is guilty of murder, the judge need only refer to the punishment of murder to sentence that person to life imprisonment. The benefit of this is that a considerable amount of time would be saved in the court, leading to significant financial savings. As a result, more money could be spent on healthcare, education, and welfare. However, I would argue that the above system is too rigid, and a process of flexible punishments is much fairer. The latter punishment system, which many countries use, leaves more room for compassion for offenders who have been blackmailed or offended. For example, under this system, if a thief can prove that he had been bullied into committing the crime, he should be sentenced to less prison time than a thief who had been motivated by greed. If, instead, fixed punishment were implemented, this sense of fairness and morality would be lost. In conclusion, while a legal system of fixed punishment might be more cost-effective and efficient, a procedure of assessing crimes based on circumstances and motives is more Just, and justice, in my opinion, is paramount.