Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

As we are on the threshold of globalisation, international sporting events are gaining more traction in recent decades. Opinions sharply diverge on whether the merits of hosting such events outweigh the demerits. Personally, I maintain that organizing international sports events is extremely beneficial to the host nations regardless of some negligible far-reaching consequences. To commence with, there is no gainsaying that global sporting events may induce serious risks to the host nations. The foremost problem is probably highly contagious disease. When the tournament is being held, tourists from all over the world will flock to the host countries, bringing new pathogen to those nations; hence, representing a potential hazard to the citizens’ well-beings. To cite an example, in the midst of the COVID19 pandemic, all international sports events have to be cancelled owing to communicable disease and global social distancing. Also, governments need to make a considerable expenditure to renovate sports facilities. Consequently, other vital sectors like education or health care may succumb to financial destitution. On the other hand, there is a multitude of reasons why I advocate the organisation of world-class sports tournaments. Hosting such big events may establish the reputation of the host countries throughout the world. Admittedly, keeping a high profile of the host nations may help enhance the field of tourism, thereby boosting economic growth. To illustrate this, the 2002 FIFA World Cup in Korea made the nation’ GDP experience an increase of almost 2%. Additionally, money earned from tourism can make amends for the spendings on sporting equipment and proliferate the sales of products and services during the period of the event. To recapitulate this, although sporting events come at the expense of some immediate problems, the benefits of those events are of paramount importance inasmuch as they are related to the countries ’long-term development..