Some people think that the fictional violence portrayed on television is harmless entertainment. Others disagree and think that it encourages violent behavior. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the context of a modern world, the advent of advanced technology has facilitated virtually every aspect of lives with no exception regarding the field of media. Some people assume that humans are being bombarded with a plethora of virtual violence on television which exerts a potential detrimental influence while others insist on its negligible drawbacks. Personally, I am consummate in accord with the former viewpoint. And this essay will outline what is considered to be the analyses of the two aforementioned perspectives as well as the motives for my opinion. On the one hand, there is a multitude of reasons why violence illustrated on television do no harm to people. There is no gainsaying that people are endowed with the ability to develop their own consciousness, thereby differentiating right from wrong. In other words, it is believed that there is a least a driving force behind a person’s violent action. To cite an example, according to a survey, many teenagers committing juvenile delinquency admit that lack of education and their family breakdown laid the foundation for their crime, not what they see on television. On the other hand, it is apparent that television programs represent potential hazards to a special section of society – children. Consciousness is regarded as an instinct of human; notwithstanding that, children at such tender age have not reached their maturity.to discriminate between good and evil. Consequently, improper access to violence without parental guidance would be synonymous with severe damage to children ’s cognitive development in a foreseeable future. To illustrate this, some researchers have it that children have a tendency to emulate their favourite actors who commit violent acts on film scenes inasmuch as those actions stimulate their curiosity. As a result, children convert virtual violence into reality, leading to a deterioration of ethical aspects. To recapitulate this, fictional violence undoubtedly does serious harm to people who are exposed to it. People may have the consciousness to resist their wrongdoings; nevertheless, this principle is not applied to children.