It is becoming increasingly popular to take a year off between finishing school and going to college. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays so many youngsters decide to take a gap year before entering post-secondary education. There are some upsides and downsides to this decision which will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, taking a year off after high school can help youth to get some rest after years of non-stop studying and figure out what they want in their life. In other words,some of them might not even know what career to pursue in the future and by taking some time to reflect, they might be able to find out what they like to do. At the same time, they can work in some jobs that do not require specific education and make money. This will allow them to save some money and travel overseas. Which gives them the opportunity to gain some life experience that would not be gained otherwise. Thus, the year gap will help teenagers to have time off school to figure out their area of interest, work, and travel which none of them would happen if they go straight to university. On the other hand, taking a gap year can make students lazy and hard to go back to study. In fact, according to some research, 30 per cent of high school graduates who took a year off never go back to pursue post-secondary education. That can make them suffer from making minimum wage and not be able to have a decent life. Also, they might find a job and start making money and get into early marriage and start a family when they are not ready for it. Therefore, it might not be a good choice for all high school graduates. To sum up, the popularity of taking some time after high school has its ups and downs. It can benefit some who have no idea what they want to do in the future and for some who love to travel. It can also cause early marriage and hard to get back to school later on.