Nowadays a growing number of boys and girls within normal weight ranges have an intense fear of gaining weight and therefore get anorexia. Why do you think a lot of teenagers have a strong desire to be skinny? What can be done to prevent this eating disorder?

In recent years, the desire to be slim and fit within teenagers have increased so much so that it has led to health disorders such as Anorexia. This essay will explain why teenagers are keen to be skinny and what is the solutions to tackle the eating disorder issue. Firstly, I think social media plays a huge role in intensifying the fear of weight gain because it forces people, especially the young generation to fit into beauty standards. Girls and boys look up to celebrities and social media influencers and believe that “skinny” is the ideal body image. Many are insecure about their bodies and want to get into shape to feel better about themselves. Moreover, people face bullying, harsh judgments and body shaming of toxic individuals that severely impacts their mental well-being and eventually starts affecting the physical strength by causing disorders such as obesity, anorexia, diabetes, chronic pain etc. It is therefore really necessary that the crowd, particularly teenagers maintain their mental and physical health. They should try to surround themselves in a positive environment and stay away from toxic people. Therapy is a great opportunity through which girls and boys can speak openly about what is bothering them. This way they will get adequate help through a professional who will talk and encourage the folk to focus on their respective mental health. Secondly, to prevent this disorder, a balanced nutritional diet needs to be maintained coupled with exercise. This will lead to a healthier lifestyle. Also, it is very important that the social environment is positive and encouraging To conclude, to prevent and overcome eating disorders it is essential that mental and physical health is not compromised and prominent efforts are made to achieve the results.