Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away ?

The alarming wastage of food that people buy in the grocery stores and general eateries is a concerning issue. The main reasons for that are the lack of awareness and a drop in prices from all produce. Some viable solutions to tackle such a problem are to promote educational campaigns and regulate taxes accordingly. Most of the consumers' tendency of buying excessive amounts of food, inappropriately storing and disposing of great amounts of unwanted products that have already been bought are some of the factors contributing to the rampant increase in tons of perishable consumables that end up in the landfills increasing the release of Green House Gases that finally affect the environment. The foremost reason for it is the low awareness in consumption, inadequate planning, limited knowledge on smart storage of perishables, and no known environmental impact. Along with that is the reduction in prices from all farm products due to globalization and the development of technologies that allow farmers to make crops grow faster. As the focal interest is to globally mitigate any sources of contamination and environmentally protect our planet, it is required to efficiently tackle this issue. Therefore, governments must work diligently on promoting educational campaigns, like tv advertisements, courses, and work on social networks delivering a message of awareness. Besides, it is needed an annual assessment of taxation for landfill waste generated from households and adjusts. Finland was recognized in 2016 by The United Nations for its proactive attitude in implementing both measures as the country had a staggering decrease of 22% in landfill wastage in that year. In conclusion, considering that people’s lack of conscious consumption and the drop in general prices in the food-market are the main aspects that greatly impact the production of biodegradable garbage, it is necessary to educate people and do control on taxation of disposable consumables from residents.