Although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In some countries working long hours is regarded the norm. Economic success resulting from long industry hours comes at a price for families, people’s health and may contribute to lower birth rates. In my opinion, the long term consequences are too grave to ignore and an effort must be made to reduce long working hours. The most serious effect of working long hours is putting employee's health at risk, causing early retirement of even premature deaths. When working long hours it is often hard to adhere to a healthy lifestyle like finding time to sleep, relax and exercise. An unhealthy lifestyle can lead to various kinds of ailments like; heart disease, diabetes, liver problems etc. Being constantly overworked can cause psychological stress like burnout, depression, and suicide. All these health problems could cost the organizations financially. Another problem is the workforce's limited time for social contacts and their families. Long working hours reduces the time spent in other human interactions and spending time with their families. If women have less time to socialize and settle down with regards to marriage, the chances of pro-generation are reduced, therefore, the birth rate of a country would reduce due to this problem. For example, Japan has been said to be a country that condones long working hours therefore, this has been considered to be the causative factor of low birth rate that the nation of Japan suffers till this day. A low birthrate might leave a culture with an aging population and results in many hard to solve problems. To sum it all, I believe that the advantages of long working hours are short-lived. The negative effects are a burden to culture. It would be beneficial if governments and companies understand the long-term cost and limit long industry hours to short-term overflow industry.