Some people believe that government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individual should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Give reasons for your answer

Although some agree that it is the responsibility of the government to take care of older people and support them when they retire, others believe that a retired person must save enough while working to fund their retirement. I agree with the latter view, as it would be beneficial for both the government as well as the young population. On the one hand, it is thought that an individual should support himself or herself at the time of retirement from its saving because it would be beneficial for the higher authorities. In many nations, the government needs to make some provision from its budget for an elderly retired people in order to take care of them. If the retired person has their own saving so as to support him or her after retirement, there will be less burden on the government for taking care of the retired individual. Moreover, the higher authorities would concentrate more on other important aspects for the development of its nation such as the construction of roads, dams, bridges, hospitals and schools. Thus, for the benefits of governments, one retired person must support himself or herself after retirement. On the other hand, funding for its retirement from the saving of fund during working by an individual would bring benefits to the youth. To elaborate, in developing countries the higher authorities charge higher income tax rates to their citizens than those in developed countries. Therefore, each individual has to pay more income tax from its earning in order to support the retired people. In contrast, if elderly retired people supported themselves from their saving after the retirement, the younger population would be paying less income tax from their savings as the government would not be taking care of the retired people. Hence, the retired people must support themselves from their saving. In conclusion, if an older-retired person supports from its saving after retirement, not only will there be less burden on the government for taking care of them, but also the youth will be less income tax from its salary for supporting them.