Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion.

Unequivocally,due to the dominance of mainstream international languages such as English,Spanish and French, many public schools put less emphasis on the aboriginal language of a particular region which has attributed to the extinction of many vernacular languages spoken across the world.Against the prevailing trend of investing more in widely spoken international languages, i believe regional languages should be given as much importance as international languages by a particular government. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument. It goes without saying that in today's globalized world it has become crucial to become well-versed with world languages as the understanding of such languages can pave the way to new opportunities. For instance,if a person knows the English language, which is recognized all across the globe than he gets an edge over the competition as he can communicate effortlessly with other foreign professionals in his professional field.Thereby,looking at the vast popularity of such a language,many people hold the opinion that it would be best to spend public money to teach children English instead of their aboriginal language. On the other side,there is a school of thought that believes,if native languages are not taught to the children in their formative years then it would be a big blow to the tradition of a particular region because reluctance to their traditional literature will extinct the cultural values from children.To quote an instance, children who are not acquainted with their national language have apathy towards their local art,culture and tradition. That is why,to sustain their local values, many governments put extra emphasise on learning regional languages. To conclude,knowing the native language is as important as knowing any other language because it not only helps to preserve traditional values but also helps people to have lucrative opportunities in the domestic as well as the international environment.