Nowadays technology is increasing being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

It is a growing concern that our private information is being recorded without our consent due to the popularity of digital devices. Personally, the benefit of keeping community and nation safe are outweighed by its drawbacks in the sense that personal privacy is being breached and that may compromise individual safety. To begin with, it is true that the graphic and vocal information collected via mobile phones and public cameras may provide vital intel to the government. A clear example would be by analysing the footage received from downtown security cameras, police can locate the bank robbers in a matter of a minute. In addition, a computer keyword filtering program is also in place in most countries to identify certain phases to prevent cyber or terrorist attacks before they happened. Therefore, retrieving these private data may seem harmless as long as these actions can be justified and keep the public safe. Nevertheless, problems arise if the information were collected illegally or fall into wrong use such as identity theft and cyber blackmail. It is a fairly common crime in most Europe cities that criminals are selling tourists' detail from the stolen luggage. This private information are then used to apply for numerous credit cards or worse, transferring all your valuables to an untraceable offshore account. Moreover, using the information against your not only can lead to a financial loss, but it may also indeed pose danger to your personal security. For instance, a chief security officer advised the public that kidnappers can hack into any electronic devices and interpret the person's behaviour by studying the online shopping habits. In other words, although you can hide your physical presence, you cannot cover up your digital footprints. In conclusion, even though monitoring some of the private information may help to ensure the safety of the public, it is impossible to control who has the rights to view these data, not to mention your digital records are widely available on the internet. As such, I maintain my view that there are more downsides to monitoring people digitally than the merits.