#Health - "Prevention is better than cure." Out of a country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? (IELTS 2, AC)

It is true that " Prevention is better than cure". Some argue that a large amount of a country's health budget must be allocated to focus more on health education and prevention methods. I completely agree with that notion because it will gradually improve the health condition of a country. Prevention of disease before it occurs, as well as more health awareness among people, will prove this. To begin with, if a country focuses more on the strategies to prevent a disease before it occurs then it can control the outbreak of the disease. For instance, introducing preventive measures like face masks, hand sanitisers, and social distancing has proved to control the transmission of the coronavirus. Therefore, if an individual already has knowledge and measures to control the health issue then the majority of diseases can be prevented. Secondly, when a country prioritizes on health education and preventive measures, it will develop awareness among the public. For example, an awareness campaign to teach the public to dispose of the waste properly can prevent a lot of air-borne diseases. Thus, health awareness campaigns are crucial. Critics argue that most of the health budget should be allocated for treatment as most of the public can not afford the hospital bills. However, diseases are less likely to occur if people are well-educated. To conclude, it is safe to say that early prevention is way better than treatment and the government should focus more on awareness and preventive campaigns. Therefore, from a country's health budget, a huge amount should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.