News Stories on TV and in News are very often accompanied by Pictures. Some people say these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

It has been rightly said that "Picture represents a thousand words". It is commonly believed by mass that pictures have more potential to convey the message of the News. I opine with this line of thought but only if the portraits are not disturbing and violent. On the one hand, distressing pictures sometimes lead to mental imbalance. Children and sometimes adults behave weirdly after watching heinous crimes news or riots visuals on TV. For example, a recent survey revealed that the crime rate and domestic violence soared after world war second because of the constant display of the war killings on the News Channels. On the other hand, contemplating the information using pictures saves an ample amount of time. Reading a complete newspaper takes a long time as compared to watching those on TV. For instance, almost every news channel covers a hundred news in sixty seconds, which is enough to understand the jinx of the incidences happening around. Further, visuals help in better understanding the literature. Adolescents have storybooks only with pictures because, despite the fact, they are unable to understand the words but they are easily able to grasp the colourful pictures. To illustrate, the infant in the movie "Baby day out" was able to save himself from the thieves just because of the picture book he was reading since he was born. To conclude, I am of the strong opinion that the picture plays a vital role while passing the information to the audience. However, the presenter should bar showcasing visuals that are misleading and disturbing.