In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It's hard to deny that humans now have longer lives in many countries, which leads some people to generate their idea that this will cause some trouble like economic pressure on the governments. However, such a statement lacks both factual and logical fallacies and should be examined meticulously. In my opinion, as far as employment, culture and economy are concerned, the whole phenomenon tends to be positive. First and foremost, the ageing population helps alleviate the problems of unemployment. To be more specific, more old people indicate that a larger number of staff are needed to fulfil the vacant job positions that the old can not do. For example, Japan has had the highest employment ratio in the world in recent years, as old people occupy more than one-third of its population but most companies require young workers, thus the ageing population is able to bring higher employment percentages. Furthermore, old people always carry the traditional cultural treasures and promote culture inheriting greatly. Take the case of China: unlike old buildings, some Chinese traditional culture like creating certain kites are difficult to protect, and the only effective method is inculcating these in the next generation by old people. Now with the increasing quantity of old citizens in China, as a result, such a problem can be solved, for the government can find residents to cultivate young persons. However, the opponents raise their viewpoint that numerous old people would bring great economic pressure to the governments because lots of money and human resources need to be invested to take care of them. Ironically, such an assumption is too subjective and lacks support, instead, many items like medicine are absolutely more required by the old, thus the huge consumption potential can be witnessed that old residents will foster economic development obviously. Based on the statement and analysis above, the advantages of having an ageing population evidently outweigh the drawbacks as far as employment, culture and economy are concerned. In addition, it can be predicted that there will be more measures taken in the future to tackle the relevant problems.