Some people believe that it is better for children learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Learning a second language is indeed a lengthy process. Some educationalists prefer to instil a foreign language at the elementary level instead of high school. This essay will discuss why I believe the benefits of this system outweigh the drawbacks. Considering the negatives of including a non-native language in primary school is that it puts extra pressure on the students. Because along with the basic subjects like maths, grammar and general knowledge, incorporating an extra course can make the syllabus heavier for their age. Consequently, a child can suffer from mental depression or one's mind can go blank during exams affecting directly the academic output. Another concern is the distraction it causes from major fundamental concepts which are necessary primarily. A student, for instance, who participates in learning a new style tends to have less concentration in core subjects due to divided attention in two different tasks. However, these drawbacks can be outweighed by the positives of teaching a foreign language at a junior school. Firstly, the grasping power of the children at the initial phase of their schooling is highest amongst all the age groups. The reason for this is that they are capable to inculcate myriads of new things instantly without many efforts. Secondly, it enables numerous opportunities for a child at a later phase in life, as the trend of moving abroad for various reasons as its peak for which international language is pre-requisite. In other words, acquiring knowledge about another language at the very beginning can enhance the understanding of that speech after secondary education which can help to crack several language testing examinations. In conclusion, despite there are few unfavourable impacts of teaching a foreign language at primary school, I think the advantages are more significant in terms of the progressive development of a child at an early stage.