with the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more recources. to what extend do you agree?

The world is becoming more dependent towards commodities that produce energy, such as oil and gas. To meet the increasing demands, it is often suggested that untouched areas should be explored to exploit the resources beneath them, however, I strongly disagree with this suggestion. First and foremost, digging oil and gas is the background of many ecological disasters and those activities have caused the rise of climate change. To illustrate, the city of Dumai in Indonesia is located in an area that is abundant in natural oil, the exploitation of their resources has destroyed the wild forest in Dumai, resulting in the lack of oxygen and the death of countless lives. Taking note of that example, opening up undiscovered areas with the mission of producing more commodities will only exacerbate the problem and destroy our planet even further. Secondly, technologies have allowed industries and factories to replace traditional energy sources with cleaner energies to support the green transition. For example, vehicles can now run on electricity, reducing their need for gas exploitation. Furthermore, as our society is shifting into the new age of energy, the demand for traditional commodities will naturally fall as people become more aware of the destruction they bring. As a consequence, undiscovered positions can be preserved and left untouched as their natural resources are no longer needed. To conclude, I disagree with the notion of opening unknown areas to take up their natural endowment. Oil and gas exploitation is known to bring destructive changes to our environment and nowadays, cleaner energy sources are available for mankind.