Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology revolutionized our lives in a variety of fields including education over the past decades. Truckloads of academic institutes are now allowing their students to attend e- classes online. While remote classes benefit a lot but I personally believe that onsite classes cannot be substituted. Admittedly, e-learning permits convenience to students who have limited access to the campus, such as oversea students. In most cases, online courses fulfil the educational objects. International students might have limited language skills in the local environment, and taking remote classes obviously is an ideal option for them to achieve their graduation goal. E- classes not only help those who are not familiar with the language, but also allow people to review the classes repetitively, and therefore improve the learning efficiency. However, the video of the class through the internet could be recorded and hence the lecturer may not be accessible. One of the vital importance advantages of onsite classes is that pupils can have instant feedback for their questions. Some subjects are theoretical, and the content could lead to misunderstanding. Students will not be able to absorb the knowledge once there is an impediment occurs during his or her studying. In this case, asking a question and getting an instant answer could resolve the problems that are obstacles for the pupil who are attending in the classroom. Apparently online study has given up this tremendous advantage of in campus courses, and leave those impediments that are not getting resolved immediately alone. In conclusion, although distance learning by networking has benefits such as overcoming xenophobia, it cannot outweigh the onsite classes as it cannot resolve students ’ problems instantly.