The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Currently, the modern world faces a variety of challenges like terrorism and population explosion. Some believe the increasing population is the most important challenge of all and I agree with this opinion and substantiate it in the following paragraphs. The tremendous improvement in the field of medicine has considerably increased longevity lifespans. Effective treatments have been discovered for the majority of dreadful diseases. For example, smallpox which is a fatal disease has been completely eradicated with vaccination. Additionally, the green revolution which took place in the field of agriculture lead to an exponential increase in the production of food grains. The food had become more affordable and is being distributed to the poor and the needy. The deaths due to starvation and malnutrition which were rampant in the past have reduced. The rise in the population is the root cause of diverse problems such as climate change which are faced by humans. Deforestation is mainly caused by encroachment of forest land to create residential areas. Most of the countries are losing forest land to the constructions to facilitate the infrastructure needs of the people. Poverty, another challenging evil of society, also results from the current demographic trends. Since the resources are limited, the distribution of them to more citizens is immensely difficult. Providing employment to all citizens is almost impossible for any government. To conclude, the practice of modern medicine increased the survival of humans contributing to a paradigm shift in demographics and uncontrolled population growth. Unfortunately, it has also lead to several other problems that threaten the very existence of the human race.