People think that the news media has influenced people’s lives nowadays and it is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The 21st century has witnessed the significant development of information technology, especially the breakthroughs of mass media, considerably affecting humans’ life. While some suppose that this brings negative impacts on humans, I tend to more disagree than agree with this viewpoint. This essay will discuss the reasons for my view as follows. On the one hand, one of the considerable reasons to be considered for the negative impact of the news media is that some local private newspapers tend to provide the wrong message to their readers. In order to attract more access, they pay no attention to reality but to make up stories with easily misunderstood headings, hence achieving more interaction with the others. As a result, the fake stories affect the people related to it not only their lives but also their families and anchors. These negative impacts result in several undesirable consequences, such as financial crisis, mental and physical matters and so on. On the other hand, it is universally acknowledged the essential role of the media in updating news locally and internationally to the communities. In the news media, there are no physical borders, therefore, the information and knowledge can transcend any border to reach the audiences and readers. For example, in the past it was extremely difficult for people in Vietnam, especially in rural areas, to access the news abroad. However, with the development of technology, no matter where the inhabitants live, they can update the world’s information quickly by a variety of types of media including newspapers, televisions or popular social networks. Moreover, the media is used as the means for the governments as well as other organizations and individuals to raise the residents’ awareness about the environment and other issues. For justification, the more people read or listen about environmental matters like deforestation, air pollution, and water contamination..., the more they will be concerned about their habitats, thus carrying out some practical actions to tackle the issues. In conclusion, my firm belief is that the news media development influences our life is not only positive aspects such as information update and awareness-raising but also negative impact defined as fake information and its consequences.