Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed,rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, a lot of individuals are choosing to become self- employed rather than work for someone else. I think this is because so many people have begun paying more attention to themselves and also following their passions instead of contributing to some else's success. On one hand, many people these days are branching out on their own to become self- employed. I think this is because of numerous reasons such as, people have become more aware of themselves and the things that make them happy, taking up their abandoned passions, or the desire to spend quality time with their families etc. For example, I myself personally fall into this category of people. By the end of 2018, I had become physically and mentally exhausted with my job, it was also obvious I had missed on family vacations and holidays like christmases Christmases. So I sought professional advice on the next move to make in regards to career choices and I concluded that, i wanted to start-up my own small business because I could do it from the comfort of my home. However, there have been steady bumps in the kind of business I opted for but it has overall become a rewarding experience. On the other hand, there are numerous challenges that self-employed person's go through and some of them are; making the wrong business choice, lack of business funding, lack of productivity etc. sometimes people make the mistake of going into the wrong type of business therefore, they are financially incapable of sustaining the business because they were not a great fit for the business, or did not have proper training to begin with. Furthermore, some might need financial assistance to float their businesses because they do not having the capital to support the venture therefore, this may slow down the progress althogether together. Also, self-employed people sometimes become less productive because they feel they are their own boss therefore they may not feel motivated due to the lack of competition. In conclusion, the number of people choosing to be self-employed is increasing as the day goes by, and there are numerous reasons for this choice which might be advantageous, but there are also considerable disadvantages that can not be ignored because they can affect the outcome of this choice negatively.