Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Some section of the society believes that the culture and characteristics of a person can be judged based on the clothing style. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this line of thought and this essay will enunciate upon my views. Firstly, wearing different types of clothes depends upon one's liking and interest. Many eminent leaders and business tycoons, such as Rahul Gandhi, Steve Jobs, Ratan Tata etc are very modest in attire. It is challenging to identify their personality and cultural background based on the dressing. It is rightly said that never judge a book based on its cover. Secondly, people usually follow fashion based on the occasion. For instance, during the new year party or Christmas party, youngster prefers western fashion and the same crowd wears traditional outfit during local festivals. During working hours, office goers prefer formal dressing and the same section wears casual while hanging out with friends and family. So, it will be difficult to judge the personality or tradition of these people. Finally, the dressing of the people also depends upon there travel. Many tourist or professional like to follow the clothing pattern of the country they are visiting. To illustrate, many Americans, when they visit India, wears traditional clothes of India. By looking at them, none can identify there root customs and characteristics. To sum up, I am of the firm opinion that judging someone customs and tradition based on his attire is misleading. On the contrary, most of the time, it will lead to the wrong perception at a first impression and will demean somebody's characteristics.