Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

In today's world, health is one of the major concern for governments in many countries. Several support governments taking initiatives to impose special taxes on foods and beverages containing high sugar level whilst others do not agree to this and have an opposite opinion. This essay will discuss both sides of the arguments and I support the latter view. On the one hand, Nowadays, an increasing number of people have been struggling with health issues. This is because people have become careless about their diet due to their busy work-life, and this has resulted in an unhealthy life. Besides the busy schedule, People have inculcated such unhealthy food in their dietary habits and have become dependent on fast-food restaurants that mostly serve high calories food & drinks. That is the reason many believe that it is the cabinet's responsibility to intervene and take care of the well-being of all citizens and agree with the notion that the government should impose high levies on unhealthy foods. On the other hand, many do believe that this is the individual responsibility to take care of what they are eating and disagree with the notion that the ministries should incorporate special taxes on food items. The reason for this is that the populace already pays a considerable levy to the regime in various forms such as income, property and GST taxes etc. Hence, they expect that these funds should be utilized for their betterment instead of applying additional duty on refreshments. In conclusion, of course, there is some truth in the argument that governments should introduce special prices on eatables and soft-drinks with high calorific values. However, in my opinion, the regime should find an alternative of fine as this will be an additional burden on the society who is already paying much higher duties in various forms.