It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

A gap year, commonly refer to a break between completing high school and the beginning of higher education. Whilst some suggested it is a good idea to have a break and reset the goals, others believed that this may negatively impact the career pathway in these young adults and may lead them astray. It is obvious that a break after high school is beneficial for these school leavers as most of them have just finished extensive and compulsory schooling. A time like this can allow them to rest up before entering next phase into their adulthood. Moreover, a gap year is also helpful for those youngsters who have uncertainty in regards to their future career path, as in whether they should further their studies and enter a university or become a working-class and learn a trade. Nevertheless, the drawbacks of having a year off are also noticeable, namely motivation lost and that can lead to further distress and confusion. Although it is widely accepted that school leavers are capable of making their own decisions and be responsible for their own act, guidelines and supervision are critically essential in their journeys. In many cases, these adultescents slowly lose their determination and drives in continuing their planned pathways or worst of all, they may engage in criminal activities if they were left without direction. In conclusion, there are merits in having a time off after schooling such as allowing a complete rest and an opportunity to decide the next destination; on the other hand, young adults could easily make a wrong turn without proper guidance. As such, it is important to weigh up the pros and cons before deciding a gap year.