Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

In the case of natural disasters, richer countries should help poorer countries in need of humanitarian relief. This essay agrees with this statement because of the global responsibility to help each other and also to prevent further conflicts that might arise. Nations that have the means to do so have the duty to help other countries in need. It is part of our collective duty as humans living on this planet to help each other. This can also build connections between the countries that can further lead to agreements that are impactful for both sides. One clear example is the help Indonesia received when the Aceh tsunami happened in 2004. That was a big disaster that caused a lot of people to lose their homes, if not their lives. Indonesia received help from multiple countries, and this helped Indonesia to bounce back quicker. Another reason is to prevent further conflicts. Natural disasters can cause displacement and diseases to spread, and this might affect not only the country directly experiencing the disaster, but also at a global scale. As an example, if a natural disaster struck part of an international trade route. This would affect the economy negatively, hiking prices up because of the shortage of supply. Aside from that, this can also directly impact people's lives because they're unable to fulfil their needs that came from trade. In conclusion, wealthier countries should help other countries in need with humanitarian help in case of natural disasters because of our shared global responsibility and to prevent further conflicts that might happen.