The government should lower the budget on the arts in order to allocate more money to education.To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that it is the governments’ responsibility to allocate budget to multiple areas such as education, healthcare infrastructure and arts etc. According to some people, financing in arts is a wastage of money and the government should finance more in literacy. I completely agree with this view for the following reasons. Firstly, education plays a vital role in the development of a country. This is because if a country possesses a lot of advanced technologies, its industry and economy will grow faster than other countries which in turn, will result in more job opportunities and better quality of life. Therefore, to alleviate the worsening conditions of society every nation needs a number of engineers, doctors and research professionals. That is why the government should invest more in literacy so that underprivileged pupils can also become literate. Secondly, high unemployment has become a perennial issue in many countries. The reason for this is that there is a limited number of opportunity available and that too belongs to professional courses. Specifically, a vast number of individuals in developing countries face this issue since they cannot avail themselves of better schooling and suffer from poor academic facilities in their nation. In such condition, commissioning of sculpture or paintings is an insult to tax-payers who lack quality training. Therefore, to combat unemployment, every regime should prioritise the expenses for literacy. In conclusion, In my opinion, higher amounts of money should be spent on education. However, art is the identity of a nation and it cannot be ignored. So, the ministry should earmark a small amount for conserving and promoting arts.