18. Many people continue to use cars and motorcycles even though they know that they are bad for the environment. Why is this? What can be done to reduce the use of these vehicles?

These days the discussion about human mobility is a need. In this essay, I will explore some of the problems associated with the use of cars and motorcycles, their impact on the environment and propose some solutions. First and foremost, while vehicles provide a convenience for its owners, they are responsible for environmental pollution provoked by the dispersion of residues from the burning of fossil fuels. This is a problem because that causes climate change and other important issues such as diseases. To illustrate this point, studies comparing the temperature and general quality of life in cities with a high amount of individual vehicles with others that favors the use of public transportation have shown that the former are hotter and its inhabitants more prone to have lung illnesses. As a result, places where the use of cars and motorcycles is more frequent contribute greatly to the degradation of nature. However, even if the bad effects of individual means of transportation are widely known, their use is still very common for lack of alternatives. This happens because while cities have expanded, the public transportation system has not accompanied their growth. For example, in the city of Sao Paulo it is usual for people to live too far from their work and everyday they need to traverse great distances (commute a great distance?). To solve this problem, public authorities must invest in options of transportation such as subways and buses in order to decrease the need of people to own vehicles. As a result, people will use less of their cars and motorcycles which will cause an improvement of the quality of the environment. In conclusion, although individual solutions for mobility are still common, their use is detrimental to nature. In my opinion, the government should tackle this issue and they should begin by considering the solution proposed above.