Some people think that school should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a contentious debate about whether schools should reward students who demonstrate top academic results or the ones who improve. In this essay, I will explore both opinions and explain why I lean towards the latter. On the one hand, a sustainable and continuous demonstration of the best academic results is admirable. Such a scholar attitude shows that a certain student is, indeed, a hard worker. For example, in order to complete high school or to receive a degree with honours one has to achieve and maintain a top GPA within the class at all times. Therefore, this kind of devotion requires some acknowledgement. Furthermore, it has been proven over the years that honour roll students are most likely to become hard-working employees in their future careers. On the other hand, some people believe that it is of more importance to reward the pupils who show improvements. One of the main reasons for such belief is that we should always motivate teenagers who are experiencing some issues with learning new material and are to overcome the struggle. Moreover, there are plenty of stories illustrating that individuals who have struggled at the beginning of their careers are most likely to succeed as they are aware of downfalls. For instance, it took some unfruitful trials with various new ideas before Bill Gates has built his Microsoft empire. In conclusion, some people might believe that it is more important to reward the ones who are continuously great. However, I think that encouraging students who stood up and improved after failures