Some parents put too much pressure on their children. To what extent do you agree?

In recent times, It has been suggested that some parents use strong persuasion tactics on their kids. I agree with this statement as I believe that, it is a common action that parents employ to make their wards achieve various feats. Firstly, many parents pressure their children and this action may happen voluntarily or involuntarily. In certain instances, there may be various reasons for strong persuasion. Although,I think that the most important one, has to do with the mentality that parents have which is characterised by the feeling of ownership and control. Oftentimes, many children find themselves miserable due to this action. For example, some parents believe that, if they provided the basic amenities for a child, the child would have to follow all their rules without consideration of the child’s feelings or input in the subject matter. Thus, this has translated in an emotion which causes stress that has begun to affect children negatively. Secondly, parents often use emotional blackmail to persuade their children. For example, this is a common way in which African mothers behave. After a young woman has reached a certain age, an African mother feels the need to compare them with other people’s daughters for instance, such as making statements like “please go and marry and I was already married at your age with children ”. This kind of comment stirs up a lot of emotional unrest in a young woman, therefore, the seed of pressure to get married has been planted. This action is often repeated by these African mother’s until they get their desired result. However, they are clueless to the emotional trauma they have inflicted on their children because of their selfish interests. To conclude, lots of parents these days, usually use pressure of various kinds on their kids in order to achieve their selfish desires, without the regard or consideration of the effects it may have on their children in as much as they reach their required goal.