Small business are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern contemporary, the phenomena of the spread of international companies in many countries become part of the globalization process. Some people believe that it could have a drawback such as discouraging local people to open their own business, while others think that it can have myriad merit; for instance, boosting countries ’ economy by lure foreign investors. I am of the opinion that this phenomenon's merits outweigh its demerits. To begin with, the main drawback caused by the existence of the international companies over local ones is that local business losses its market-ground, due to increasing number of the global companies, which in turn leads to increase badly the percentage of unemployment rate. This is because the existence of the market competition, between in-home companies and global ones, has been diminished. As a result, local companies closed their business and fired their employees. Therefore, some economists suggest that the government should put the rules and regulate the relation between both local and international investors. Nevertheless, despite the demerits previously mentioned, I believe that the benefits of this phenomenon outweigh its disadvantages. The reason for this is that foreign investors usually bring hard currency to the country, which boosts dramatically the country’s economy. For example, according to an article that has been recently published in the New York Times, 31 per cent of developing countries have been survived economically as a result of the reservation procedures of hard currency. Therefore, third -world countries often encourage foreign investors to invest in their countries; despite the fact that this could affect dramatically the unemployment rate. In conclusion, it is evident this essay highlighted the positive impacts and negative effects of the disappearance of small businesses and being substituted by global companies. In my opinion, the advantages greatly outweigh the disadvantages.