it is more important for government to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment. do you agree of disagree?

It is suggested that it is important for the government should spend public funds to encourage healthy living rather than spend it on treatment. I agree with this view as I believe that, the well-being of the public should be a priority and it is considerably cheaper to prevent diseases than cure them. Firstly, the well-being of the public is a direct reflection on the government after all they have a responsibility to protect and provide for the people. Therefore promotion of prevention methods is actually beneficial to the government because if most of the citizens fall ill, they would be required to offer assistance of some sort to taxpayers. For example, many countries now offer free healthcare services, but some nations can not afford to pay solely for the treatment of terminal diseases like cancers. Therefore, they would prefer if these diseases are prevented or diagnosed at the earliest stages because this way, they spend lesser money in providing treatment for the sick. Secondly, another point to consider is that promoting prevention measures are quite affordable and this can be done by conducting many educational programs on television networks, also equipping the local clinics with counsellors, social care workers and dieticians. A healthy lifestyle can be achieved only if proper education and guidelines are given to the public. The diet of the public plays a major role in healthy living because you are what you eat. Therefore, following these suggestions, many diseases could be prevented. In conclusion, prevention is said to be better than cure and living a healthy life is a personal responsibility however, the government also has a role to ensure the public are reminded of the benefits of staying healthy at all times and also adhering to preventions suggestions.