Governments in many countries have recently introduced special taxes on foods and beverages with high levels of sugar. Some think these taxes are a good idea while others disagree.Discuss both views and give you own opinion.

In the modern world, the popularity of nutritious food has seen a long-term gradual increase. Thus, some governments have even set levies on foodstuffs and drinks, which contain a huge amount of sugar. Whereas some claim that it is a positive movement, others do not accept this point of view. Hence, the following essay will examine both these statements, and I will also explain why I totally believe that this is a beneficial tendency. To begin with, one predominant nuance, which contributes to the positive aspects of this idea, is that it will potentially help humans to make better choices regarding their daily diet and, consequently, halt humans' health degradation. To put it differently, since many corporations probably would not like to pay additional taxes, they will reduce the amount of sugar in their products, and people will not have the opportunity to buy such unhealthy foods. To illustrate this, there is a great example of governments' measures regarding junk food in Mcdonalds, where state organisations restricted to offer double sets to visitors, and this drastically reduced the consumption of fast food in a multitude of countries. Thus, I think that additional levies are a brilliant tool to tackle many pressing social complications like diabetes or obesity, as they can potentially alter humans' daily habits. On the other hand, such restrictions can entail huge economics issues. In other words, as the food industry is one of the major sectors in a multitude of countries, this rule can drastically impact their economics in general. As a case in point, it was revealed that for many countries such a domain as convenience junk food is one of the biggest drivers to develop their financial status, and if these companies decide to stop their activities, it will adversely affect the financial situation of countries. As a result, special taxes on some beverages and foodstuffs can be crucial for people living in countries, where this rule is accepted. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with the growing tendency to introduce some levies for convenience junk in some countries. Whereas it can drastically impact the financial status of some regions, I totally believe that this is a positive idea. Since people can not opt for such products, their diet will probably become more diverse, and it will reduce the risk of many possessing health difficulties.