Nowdays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

In the current era, there is a rising trend of people choosing to be self-employed rather than working for others. We hear about people around us quitting jobs and starting their own businesses every other day. We will explore the thought process behind this notion in the forthcoming paragraphs along with its possible disadvantages. The first and foremost reason is the increasing taxation on salaries which leaves salaried employees with the bare minimum to support their increasing expenses. With the motive of saving tax, many people start small-scale businesses. Another important contributor is the built-up frustration of a regular employee slogging his days and nights trying to accomplish unrealistic goals. As a result, he chooses to quit his fruitless job and start something of his own. Increasing risk-taking ability is another important factor encouraging individuals to step out of their monotonous 9-to-5 jobs and try entrepreneurship. Social media is a key contributor to this changing trend as more individuals are turning to these channels for starting and promoting their businesses. Even though self-employment brings a bundle of benefits and flexibility in one's work life, there are some disadvantages which can not be ignored. The biggest drawback is that there is no guarantee that the business will be successful or not. The investment could bloom or turn to zero leaving the person with nothing. Other shortcomings include that an entrepreneur has to work every day of the week and misses out on the vacations that employees are eligible for. Most organizations offer numerous medical benefits to support the health of their workers whereas a businessman has to pay for them out of his pocket. To summarize, despite many risks that come along with the idea of entrepreneurship, people are ready to try their fate and be independent in their employment.