More and more plastic is polluting cities, the countryside and oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays so many products are made out of plastic materials including both soft or hard plastics. These products are getting expelled into the environment causing irreversible damage to both flora and fauna. To tackle this problem we should reduce plastic production and increase recycling methods. This essay will examine both cause and solution to this problem in details. To begin with, plastic produces are one of the most popular products that are non-compostable, which means, they stay in the environment and never get degraded. Every day, millions of plastic products in different forms, from straws, cups, boxes, and plastic bags are thrown in the garbage and eventually end up in the countrysides, oceans and cities. Meantime, since they are not recycled properly, they stay in the soil forever. Eventually, end up in open waters in the forms of small particles. When sea creatures including fish and sea birds, and sea mammals swallow them, these particles do not get digested and can obstruct their digestive systems and kill them. For instance, according to many types of research, so many small fish and dolphins died around the Mediterranean seas as a result of ingesting plastic materials.. Moreover, land can get polluted by these plastics particles causing soil degradation and loss of soil natural habitats for similar reasons. Thus, plastic materials which can not be decomposed can damage the natural habitat almost everywhere. To curb this disaster, the world should reduce the amount of plastic production and limit it to only necessary products like hospital goods. The rest can be substituted by other environmental- friendly products. Also, we should come up with a better recycling system to be able to re-use plastic materials in lieu of dumping them into the natural habitat. For instance, each neighbourhood should have a recycling depot to be able to recycle both soft and hard plastic. To summarize, it is clear that the unlimited production of plastic products and not having organised universal recycling programs across the globe can negatively impact our habitat. To tackle this problem, plastic products should be limited to only essential products and the recycling system should be ameliorated by introducing new recycling depots to all areas where people are living.