The environmental problems that today's world is facing are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. So governments and large organisations should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that humanity is facing tremendous environmental problems which can not be solved on an individual level. They also think that governments and large entities should be in charge of reducing the negative effects on the environment. In this essay, I will explore the notion and explain why I strongly agree with it. Firstly, it is obvious that the greatest amount of air pollution is coming from the fossil fuel industries, such as oil and gas, mining and refineries. For example, each country has a set limit of emissions which it is allowed to produce. In case it exceeds the number, it has to pay a fine. Most of the oil-producing states make enormous income from selling black gold, therefore they are not interested in reducing pollution because paying fines is easier than losing the profit. For instance, China’s trade on the oil market is so important that it purchases the quota for emissions from other countries. Secondly, governments have the power and resource to launch special programs and campaigns in order to encourage citizens to use alternative energy sources. To illustrate, in Germany, a family can get discounts for the services of solar battery installation. Furthermore, they are encouraged by lower tariffs for other utilities, such as tap water and garbage collection. Another illustration of state programs is a campaign to promote the purchasing of electric cars in Italy. Every citizen can apply on a province web site that he wants to buy an electric car. The province pays a certain percentage to the seller, thus financially supporting a buyer. In conclusion, I definitely agree with the notion that governments and large organisations should combat air pollution due t the facts that they are in control of the emissions and can launch various programs to support sustainable energy development.