Some people think that it is good for a country's culture to import foreign movies and TV programmes. Other think than it is better to produce these locally. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is well acknowledged that visual media have deep roots in people's lives, without which life would be boredom. Many people agree that it is amicable for a nation to purchase television shows as well as movies from other nations. However, some others believe that it is good to produce them regionally rather than depending on others. Both sides would be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, importing TV programmes from other countries would help people to know more about unknown areas. To elaborate, movies and TV shows are accessible to everyone including children, youngsters and adults. They are a good option to familiarize with the language, culture, the climate of many faraway areas. For example, a study conducted by a reputed newspaper claimed that 50% of regular English movie viewers in India are superior to others in handling English. Besides that, viewing those programmes would help people to travel to other nations without any hesitation. Because they are familiar with the attitude, slang and behaviour of other nation. For these reason they would not feel any isolation in such a foreign nation. On the other hand, creating regional programmes is more reasonable for a country. To explain, when foreign films and shows are imported, it could cause a large sum. Apart from that, if programmes are developed within a country would not cost much. For example, in India, people have to pay more to view international channels such as HBO, BBC. Whereas no additional fees are there for local channels. In addition to financial benefits, promoting regional programmes would motivate people to express their talents. To expand, most individuals suppress their skills since they have no platforms to show them. If those people are encouraged, it would be a great step for the comprehensive development of people. Hence, to conclude, importing foreign programmes have their own merits. However, in my opinion, if those shows are produced locally, they would definitely encourage people to express and polish their artistic skills.