Parents of obese children should be punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the caregivers of overweight kids must face punishment because they make them obese. This essay disagrees with that statement since genetics impact the children's weight and caregivers spend relatively little time monitoring their kids. Genetic DNA characteristics contribute to various features of our body. DNA is a series of codes that decide what are the physical or mental skills that we are going to inherit from our ancestors; varying from intelligence all the way to hair colour, and certainly including our body shapes and variable rates of metabolism. For instance, if both the father and the mother are lean, then most probably their children will also be the same because these genes have been transferred to the baby cells. The calculation works in the opposite way as well, a recent study concluded that if one of the original parents is fat, then at least half of the newborn babies will be prone to obesity. So, even if these genes are coming from the parents, they actually have no real control over it, and hence, they do not deserve to hold any consequences regarding that. Many caregivers are employees and do not have a satisfying amount of time to supervise the daily meals. Being a working mother or a working father means that you will consume a minimum of eight hours of your day out of home, and therefore, your daughter or your son will have at least two meals alone. Moreover, during this time period, kids are usually at school or daycare services, in other words, they are exposed to more junk meal without having parental supervision. A good example would be one of my classroom colleagues, as I remember, her mom used to give her lunch boxes filled with vegetables and fat-free sandwiches. However, this girl never ate her foodstuff and would throw it to the birds instead. She would rather buy deep-fried potatoes from the canteen. Thus, the unhealthy amount of cooking intake is mainly the child's decision, not the parents’ responsibility. In conclusion, while the parents might have the authority to direct their children's lifestyle, they still can not fully prevent them from reaching for sugary or fatty snacks, in addition to the important factor of the DNA impact that limits the tangible weight monitoring.