In the last decade, there has been a great increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. This has been welcomed as a great opportunity but many students, however, other students see these courses as less effective than classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online courses?

Online learning is becoming increasingly popular these days due to the advancement of technology. Online courses have helped so many students to be able to access education form their own devices, while others believe virtual studying is not helpful and preferred traditional classrooms. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of online education in detail. On the one hand, virtual studying is very convenient. You can study from the comfort of your home without having to commute. This is especially good for people who have a family and young children. They can stay home and do their courses at their own speed and when their kids are asleep or at school. Furthermore, online learning is more affordable due to the fact that students do not have to pay for transit and street food. They can have their food ready at home and get their coffee and snack without paying extra. This will help them to save up some money and time. Another advantage of online study is the possibility of choosing courses from anywhere around the world without having to travel a long distance. Thus, online studying can be beneficial in terms of its convenience, save commute time and money and also enable people to choose courses from any education institutions around the globe. On the other hand, one can be easily distracted during virtual learning. In other words, it takes lots of dedication and focuses to be able to follow an online course, due to the fact that there are so many ways to be distracted at home. For instance, phone calls, food preparation, the urge for cleaning and doing other home tasks can interfere during an online class. Also, during distance learning students can not have the opportunity to be engaged in conversation during the class and ask questions from their instructors. In fact, they might not be able to get the information if they can not get their questions answered in time. As a result, virtual classes can be less informative and helpful due to the distraction, not having the opportunity to ask clarification questions therefore not be able to understand the whole concept of the course. To summarize, virtual learning that is becoming more and more popular every day, has its own pros and cons. It is convenient for those who prefer to stay home and have self-paced study and they will benefit from saving time and money, it is easy to access anywhere around the world, however, it takes lots of courage not to be distracted and be able to understand the course without the chance of asking their questions.